Uncategorized, writing, writing advice

How to Outline Your Novel

The first step to writing your novel after you get that award winning idea, is to make an outline for it. *cue groaning*

I know. ‘Outlining is boring.’ And why do you even need to outline anyway? I’d rather just have everything come to me organically.

I had these thoughts too. I also never used to get very far in my novels. I’m here to tell you what I do to make outlining more fun, and how it’s imperative to your novel.

Instead of just writing a boring bulleted list, get out your markers and flash cards. Color code your main plot, sub plots, and characters that go through an arc, and start making cards as you think of them and place them in order on the floor.

This way, you can visually see how much time you are spending on each plot point, and where you are missing some pieces in you plot. This helped me so much in coming up with the middle of my story and getting from point A to point Z.

This way is just so much less stressful, and you can work on it as you come up with ideas. When you’re done, it should look something like this:screen320x480.jpeg

Happy writing everyone!

Leave a Reply

